What Boston Means To Me

It’s been a full day since tragedy struck Boston & it has taken all of that time for me to even begin processing how I feel. The hardest part for me has been not being able to physically be there for all of the people I care about. I read a piece earlier by Andrew Cohen in The Atlantic that discussed how if you spend any time in Boston it becomes a part of you. Reading it caused me tear up because of how truthful his written words are…

I lived in Boston for four years during my time at Emerson College, but it was most certainly the four most transformational years of my life. I arrived as a 17-year-old who thought he knew everything there was to know about life & left as a 21-year-old who realized I had actually known nothing. During those four years I experienced many ups & many downs as any college student does. I experienced love, but I also experienced heartbreak. I experienced a tremendous sense of unity, but also times of loneliness. I experienced fear of leaving the comforts of home, but then a sense of pride when four short years later Boston had become my new home. For as much as I experienced during my time there, I learned even more. As Andrew Cohen put perfectly, I may not be able to say I am “from” Boston, but I can certainly say I am “of” it.

Feelings have a strange way of coming out during times like this. While we will all cope with what occurred in different ways, I like to think that for those of us who have experienced all that Boston has to offer, we can take comfort in knowing that we aren’t alone. Boston may be down, but as many others have already said, it is certainly not out. While I don’t know who I would have become had I not spent those four years in Boston, I do know I wouldn’t be the person I am today. The city and the people in it shaped me & will forever be a part of who I am and for that I am eternally grateful.

Leave a Reply

